Thursday, October 17, 2019

11 Asia Pacific countries sign up to new trade pact

Mar 09. 2018
Facebook Twitter


1,281 Viewed

Malaysia and 10 other Asia Pacific countries signed the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) in Santiago, Chile on Thursday.

Malaysia’s Minister of International Trade and Industry (MITI) Mustapa Mohamed said the countries were Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

“Despite the absence of the US, Malaysia still stands to gain from market access to countries like Canada, Peru and Mexico with whom we currently do not have preferential trading arrangement,” he said in a statement.

“In addition to the market access, our participation in the CPTPP will also benefit us in terms of enhancing governance in a number of economic sectors, strengthening economic cooperation among member countries and promoting adoption of international standards. 

“Malaysia believes that this agreement will help us further promote our trade and investment agenda and mitigate the challenges of the global economic environment,” he said.

Mustapa said Malaysia would gain from the CPTPP as it would enable more Malaysian companies to expand their presence beyond the borders of the country. The deal would also enhance Malaysia’s position as a premier investment destination and eventually create additional quality jobs for our people. 

“The Malaysian public at large will also benefit from the increase in consumer choices on goods and services in our market,” he said. 

Mustapa said CPTPP ministers shared the view that, by achieving a high-standard and well-balanced outcome, the agreement will strengthen the mutually-beneficial linkages among participating economies, boost trade, investment and economic growth in the Asia-Pacific Region, and create new opportunities for businesses, consumers and workers.


Facebook Twitter
More in Asia News Network
Editor’s Picks
Top News