Thursday, September 19, 2019

Ten new faces in reshuffled Cabinet, nine out

Nov 24. 2017
Facebook Twitter

By The Nation

13,407 Viewed

His Majesty the King on Friday endorsed the new Cabinet after a reshuffle that saw 10 new faces, nine removed and eight members given new assignments.

Prime Minister Prayut Chan-o-cha removed General Tanasak Patimapragorn and Admiral Narong Pipatnasai as his deputies, as well Minister attached to Prime Minister’s Office Omsin Chivapruek, Deputy Defence Minister General Udomdej Sitabutr, Tourism And Sport Minister Kobkarn Wattanavrangkul, Commerce Minister Apiradi Tantraporn, Industry Minister Atchaka Sribunruang, Deputy Transport Minister Pichit Akarathit and Deputy Education Minister ML Panadda Diskul.

Ministers switching portfolios are:

Adul Saengsingkaew, from social development and human security minister to labour minister;

General Chatchai Sarikalya, from agriculture and cooperative minister to deputy premier;

Suvit Maesincee, from minister attached to the PM’s Office’s to science minister;

General Anantaporn Kanjanarat, from energy minister to social development minister;

Chutima Bunyapraphasara, from deputy agriculture minister to deputy commerce minister; and

Suwaphan Tanyuvardhana, from justice minister to minister attached to the PM’s Office.

Deputy Prime Minister ACM Prajin Juntong is handed an additional assignment as justice minister and Sontirat Sontijirawong is upgraded from deputy to full commerce minister.

New faces in the Cabinet are:

Former deputy government spokesman Kobsak Pootrakool, who becomes a PM’s Office Minister;

General Chaichan Changmongkol, from Permanent Secretary of Defence to Deputy Defence Minister;

Weerasak Kowsurat as Tourism and Sport Minister,

Former Interior Permanent Secretary Krissada Boonraj, who becomes Agriculture Minister,

Former Bank for Agriculture and Agricultural Cooperatives manager Lak Wajananawatch, who is now Deputy Agriculture Minister;

Scholar Wiwat Salyakamthorn, who becomes Deputy Agriculture Minister;

Former CEO of PTT Pairin Chuchot-taworn, who takes over as Deputy Transport Minister.

Siri Jirapongphan, former executive director of the Petroleum Institute of Thailand, is Energy Minister;

Former Mahidol University president Udom Kachintorn is Deputy Education Minister; and

Former Industry permanent secretary Somchai Hanhiran takes over as Deputy Industry Minister.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News