The Nationthailand

Add to Home Screen.

SUNDAY, September 25, 2022
EC finishes zoning in preparation for provincial polls

EC finishes zoning in preparation for provincial polls

THURSDAY, June 18, 2020
1.5 k

Zoning has been completed in 19 provinces as a step towards holding elections for the provincial administrative organisation.

The announcement of the Election Commission (EC) of Thailand was published in the Royal Gazette website on Wednesday (June 18).
The announcement, signed by EC chairman Itthiporn Boonprakong on June 17, said that the 19 provinces where the commission had finished zoning for the election were: Krabi, Chai Nat, Chumphon, Trang, Trad, Nakhon Pathom, Prachin Buri, Pattani, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, Phang Nga, Phatthalung, Phuket, Yala, Ranong, Ratchaburi, Satun, Sing Buri, Suphan Buri and Surat Thani.
The EC also added that any new subdistricts, villages or communities that emerge after this announcement would be considered a part of the subdistricts, villages or communities that they separated from.
Earlier this week the EC revealed that it had earmarked Bt800 million for local elections nationwide and was ready to organise the elections upon receiving the greenlight from the government.
The announcement of election zoning signals that local elections will soon be held in these provinces; no local elections have been held for the past six years of General Prayut Chan-o-cha's rule.