Thursday, October 01, 2020

Finalists in tourism for tomorrow awards announced

Jan 22. 2019
Facebook Twitter


The World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) has now announced the 15 finalists for its 2019 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. These are organised into the following new categories including Climate Action, Investing in People, Destination Stewardship, Social Impact and Changemakers.

Following a rigorous three-phase judging process, which includes an onsite evaluation, the winners will be announced during the awards ceremony at the 19th WTTC Global Summit in Seville, Spain from April 2 to 4.

All 15 finalists illustrate a strong commitment to supporting change, transformation in business practices and consumer behaviour towards a more environmentally conscious sector.

“This year’s Tourism for Tomorrow Awards shine the spotlight on those organisations which are leading the way in sustainable travel and tourism. They reflect WTTC’s Strategic Priorities of Climate Action, Destination Stewardship, Future of Work, and Social Responsibility. I am delighted that as we mark our 15th anniversary year, we are particularly highlighting initiatives that are combatting the illegal wildlife trade, in line with the WTTC Buenos Aires Declaration which was launched in April 2018,” said Gloria Guevara, president and CEO of WTTC.


Awards Lead Judge, Prof Graham Miller at the University of Surrey added: “The shortlisted projects and businesses demonstrate community development, sustainable employment practices, female empowerment, innovative environmental technology and protection of land and marine wildlife as well as positively contributing to the broader Sustainable Development Goals. Their efforts in these areas are a beacon to the rest of the travel sector in signalling the way to a more sustainable world.”

The Climate Action Award will be given to organisations undertaking significant and measurable work to reduce the scale and impact of climate change. The three finalists are Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort in Aruba, the Brando, Tetiaroa Private Island in Tahiti, and Tourism Holdings Limited in New Zealand.

The Investing in People Award will be presented to organisations demonstrating leadership in becoming an exciting, attractive, and equitable employer in the sector. The finalists are Lemon Tree Hotels Limited in India, Reserva do Ibitipoca in Brazil, and Shanga by Elewana Collection in Tanzania.

The Destination Stewardship Award will honour organisations helping a place to thrive and bring forward its unique identity for the benefit of its residents and tourists. The finalists are Grupo Rio da Prata in Brazil, Masungi Georeserve in the Philippines, and St Kitts Sustainable Destination Council, St Kitts and Nevis.

 The Social Impact Award will be given to organisations working to improve the people and places where they operate. The finalists are Awamaki in Peru, Intrepid Group in Australia and Nikoi Island in Indonesia.

The Changemakers Award will put a special spotlight on fighting the illegal wildlife trade through tourism, an issue that is also a focus of WTTC with its Buenos Aires Declaration on Illegal Wildlife Trade launched last year. The finalists are Kelompok Peduli Lingkungan Belitung (KPLB) in Indonesia, SEE Turtles in the US, and The Cardamom Tented Camp in Cambodia.

More details on the awards and the finalists can be found at

Facebook Twitter
More in Lifestyle
Editor’s Picks
Top News