Tuesday, July 07, 2020

‘Malila’ a five-time winner at film awards but ‘Samui Song’ draws a blank

Mar 12. 2019
Sukollawat “Weir” Kanarot wins the best actor for his role in Malila movie.
Sukollawat “Weir” Kanarot wins the best actor for his role in Malila movie.
Facebook Twitter

By The Nation

“Malila” (“The Farewell Flower”) is the big winner at the 15th Kom Chad Luek awards, winning in five of its seven film categories while the most-nominated film, “Samui Song”, missed out entirely. The awards were announced at the Thailand Cultural Centre on Tuesday.

Sukollawat “Weir” Kanarot wins the best actor for his role in Malila movie.

Produced by G Village Co-Creation Hub, “Malila” won Best Picture, Best Screenplay, Best Director for Anucha Boonyawatana, Best Actor for Sukollawat “Weir” Kanarot and Best Supporting Actor for Anuchyd Spanphong. Other winners were Warisra Yu (Best Actress for “App War”) and Tarika Thidathit, Best Supporting Female Actress for “Sing Soo” (“Reside”). 

Best supporting actor goes for Anuchyd Spanphong in Malila movie.

Divided into two parts, “Malila” first dwells on the wonders of love and the sadness of separation between Shane (Sukollawat Kanarot) and Pich (Anuchyd Spanphong) through the beauty of nature and the art of bai sri, of which Pich is a master. The second part is quiet and powerful and reflects Buddhist spirituality.

 Tarika Thidathit wins best supporting female actress for “Sing Soo” (“Reside”).

In the TV categories, the hit period drama Buppesannivas” (“Love Destiny”) claimed three awards, for Best TV Drama, Best TV Screenplay and Best Supporting Actress for Janya Thanasawangkul. “Lar”, from One 31 channel, won Best Actress for Lalita Panyopas and Best Director for Sant Srikaewlor. Best Actor went to Saksit Tangtong from “Luead Khon Kon Jang” (“In Family We Trust”), while veteran actor Suprawat Patamasoot won Best Supporting Actor for “Rim Fang Nam”.

Ranee “Bella” Campen wins the popular vote for best actress.

In the music awards, Eve Pancharoen, better known as Palmy, won for Best Female Artist and Best Song for “Mae Kiew”. Pongsit Khampi who was nominated three awards, won just one but it was a major triumph, for Best Male Artist. Scrubb took Best Duo or Group, Yada “Petite” Gomez was named Best New Artist and Jay Penguin Villa’s album “Jay” was Best Album.

Palmy wins best female singer and best song for “Mae Kiew”.

Voted by the public, singer Palitchoke “Peck” Ayanaputra won Popular Artist, Prachaya “Singto” Ruangroj was Most Popular Actor, Ranee “Bella” Campen Most Popular Actress, Kong Huayrai for Most Popular Lukthung Male Artist, and Tai Orathai for Most Popular Lukthung Female Artist. “Nakee” won Most Popular Movie and “Sotus S The Series” was Most Popular Series.

 Palitchoke “Peck” Ayanaputra wins the popular artist.



Facebook Twitter
More in Lifestyle
Editor’s Picks
Top News