Saturday, July 20, 2019

Music gets it winners

Mar 07. 2019
Winners of The Guitar Mag Awards 2019 pose for a photo session with the idol groups.
Winners of The Guitar Mag Awards 2019 pose for a photo session with the idol groups.
Facebook Twitter

By Kitchana Lersakvanitchakul

14,110 Viewed

Palmy, Polycat, Zeal and Bodyslam are honoured at the eighth edition of The Guitar Mag awards

As was widely expected, pop artist Eve Pancharoen, aka Palmy, swept the Guitar Mag awards on Tuesday night, smiling as she went up on stage to the applause and cheers of the audience packed into Ultra Arena at Show DC. 


Out of four career nominations, the Thai-Belgian pop sensation won three – Best Songwriter, Single Hit for “Sorn Klin”, the music video of which has been viewed more than 129 million times on YouTube, as well as Best Female Artist. She lost out on Best Producer, which went to Polycat’s singer and guitarist Rattana Chanprasit for the soul-R&B song “Aworn” (“I Want You”).


“I’m overwhelmed. Thanks to Phi Nick (Wichian Rerkpaisan of Genie Records) for persuading me to be part of this music label and all the producers who have given me so much experience and knowledge. And thank you to The Guitar Mag for presenting me with Best Female Artist, which confirms I made the right decision in returning to the scene after a long break. My thanks also go to everybody who has sup¬ported me to reach this point,” Palmy said. 


Rattana also expressed his delight. “This award reminds me of the beginning of the band. I had long dreamt of being a producer or a songwriter but after many years as a guitarist, that was gradually fading. This award has made my dream come true,” he said.

The ceremony got off to a lively start with a red carpet event outside and also kept up with the growing idol trend of today by bringing in as guests BNK48, CM Café, Akira Kuro and Black Dolls.


The sixth floor foyer was jammed packed with pop stars and hip-hoppers, especially those nominated for the inaugural Rising Star Hip Hop of the Year. Among them were D Gerrard and Wonderframe from Wayfer Records, Tong Twopee Southside from Thaitanium Entertainment, and indie rappers Young Ohm and OGANIC, who have made themselves known through reality shows. 


The ceremony opened with a show by Krissada Sukosol Clapp, aka No Pru, who then named the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award as the late Rewat “Ter” Buddhinan, a pioneer of the Thai pop music industry and the founder of GMM Grammy.


“We thank The Guitar Mag for presenting this prestigious award to Rewat. The one thing Rewat loved most is music. He had a dream to make our country’s music circle more acceptable and successful and to make the career of musician honourable,” said Aruya Buddhinan, Ter’s wife, who came along with their two daughters.


Pongkool “Pop” Suebsung was next on stage with “Ying Mai Roo Ying Tong Tham” but the song seemed to make him sad and he walked off the stage without saying anything. 

The Parkinson’s guitarist and singer Nipat “Karn” Kamjornpreecha picked up the award for Guitar Man of the Year for his song “Pai Ther” (“Just Go”).


“I have followed The Guitar Mag for years and used it to practise my guitar playing. That gave me sore fingers at first but I persevered. I was so excited when I heard I’d been nominated for this award,” Karn said.

Wonderframe, D Gerrard, and Tong Twopee Southside performed mini shows before Tong Twopee was back onstage again to receive the Rising Star Hip Hop award. He too thanked the magazine, saying: “My song has only been heard by a small group of people; it is like a kind of underground music. I would like to push hip hop further in the future and thank the producers of ‘Rap Is Now’, ‘Show Me The Money’ and ‘The Rapper’ for giving our music this chance.”


New Wave of the Year went to Whal and Dolph and Best Choice of the Year to Zeal, before BNK48 members made a surprise show with their new and sixth single, “Kor Proh Wa Chob Ther” (“Kimi no Koto ga Suki Dakara”) and hit “Cookie Siang Thai” (“Fortune Cookie”).

Prach “Pex” Pongchai, the singer of Zeal, noted that the band had been in the business for 17 years and he therefore had a lot of people to thank – the production teams of ME Records and Muzik Move and the band’s families, among others.


Best Male of the Year went to Pop Pongkool, Best Band to Bodyslam, and Best Album to The Richman Toy’s “Tawan Lia Tood.”

“All I can say is that music saved my life at a time when I couldn’t find a job. Thanks to everybody who has supported me and all the behind-the-scene teams of White Music. I dedicate my award to you all,” says Pop Pongkool.

“It’s usually Toon who comes up to say thanks but right now he’s participating in a running event in Japan,” said Bodyslam’s keyboardist Ohm Plengkhum who came up on stage with drummer Suchatti “Chad” Janed.


“I believe that all of us got much of our music knowledge from The Guitar Mag, so thanks to them, to Phi Nick, the team at Genie Records, and Off and Kob Big Ass. Phi Toon always says that we couldn’t have reached this point without these supporters. I would like to share this award with all bands that dedicate their energy and passion to making musical works. Carry on and you too can be Best Band of the Year.” 


Facebook Twitter
More in Lifestyle
Editor’s Picks
Top News