Tuesday, August 04, 2020

NLA approves controversial Sansern as commissioner 

Aug 11. 2017
Sansern Poljiak
Sansern Poljiak
Facebook Twitter

By Prapasri Osathanon
The Nation

The National Legislative Assembly (NLA) on Thursday voted to approve new commissioners for the Office of the Auditor General (OAG), including controversial former secretary-general of the National Anti-Corruption Commission (NACC) Sansern Poljiak.

Seven commissioners were approved. They are experts and high-ranking officials from other agencies: Yupin Chalanonniwat, Pimon Thampitakphong, Orapin Polsuwan Sabairoop, Jinda Mahatthanawat, General Chanathup Inthamara, Weerayuth Pannuam, and Sansern.

While most of his colleagues-to-be received between 195 to 206 votes, Sansern won with a narrower margin of 166 to 36, with 12 abstentions.

Approval required at least 125 votes from the NLA.

Some NLA members earlier questioned whether Sansern would be appropriate for the position. They had lodged a petition to the OAG, asking it to investigate the case of an irregular budget allocation for a legal service with the lawyers’ council when Sansern was the NACC’s secretary-general.

However, it was found that the incident had taken place before Sansern took office.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News