Monday, July 06, 2020

Two veteran Pheu Thai politicians lose seats in Khon Kaen

Mar 25. 2019
File photo
File photo
Facebook Twitter

By The Nation

Two several-term MPs of the Pheu Thai Party suffered defeat to candidates from the Future Forward and Phalang Pracharat parties in Khon Kaen in Sunday’s general election.

According to unofficial results announced Monday morning, Pheu Thai’s Jakkarin Patdamrongjit lost to little-known Thitinan Saengnak of the Future Forward Party in Constituency 1.

Thitinan recieved 36,680 votes, while Jakkarin got 27,773.

Jakkarin shook hands with Thitinan to congratulate him when they met at the Khon Kaen election office to check the latest voting update.

In Constituency 2, Pheu Thai’s Orn-anong Sarapol, who had won the seat at several general elections, was beaten into second place by Wattana Changlao of the Phalang Pracharat Party.

Wattana, also a veteran politician, got 44,090 votes, compared to 33,094 for Orn-anong.

A little-known Future Forward candidate, Sanchai Thakong, received 21,139 votes.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News