Thursday, August 06, 2020

Five Asean countries named as high-risk for Covid-19 infection

Apr 23. 2020
Facebook Twitter


Malaysia, Cambodia, Laos, Indonesia and Myanmar have been added to the list of countries and territories considered as high risk for the new coronavirus (Covid-19) infection on the Royal Gazette website.

A Ministry of Public Health announcement on Wednesday (April 22), signed by Deputy Prime Minister and Public Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul, stated that the Covid-19 situation in these countries was escalating. Under Sections 5 and 8 of the Communicable Disease Act BE 2558, these countries were named as high risk for infection, in order to increase efficiency in disease prevention and control among Thai authorities.

On March 6, Thailand had named four countries -- China (including Hong Kong and Macau), South Korea, Italy and Iran -- as being high risk for Covid-19 infection.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News