Thursday, August 05, 2021


18 illegal immigrants found to carry Covid-19 in Songkhla

Thailand's Covid-19 count rose sharply over a 24-hour period with 18 people testing positive, ending a week of single-digit new cases.



Cumulative cases rose to 2,987, Dr Taweesin Visanuyothin, spokesman of the government’s Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA), said on Monday (May 4).
All 18 of the new cases were found at the Songkhla Immigration Detention Centre in Songkhla province. The patients are illegal immigrants. An official investigation traced the source of the cluster to an immigration officer working at the Sadao border crossing.
Of the total 2,987 cases, 2,470 have recovered, 193 remain under treatment at hospitals while deaths remain unchanged at 54.
Meanwhile, Taweesin said the 40 suspected new cases in Yala province reported on Sunday turned out to be negative when retested. He said the tests would done again at a Bangkok lab, and the CCSA will report the outcome later.
The spokesman said that a total 227,860 Covid-19 tests had been conducted nationwide as of May 1, 92,840 by private agencies, and 135,020 by government agencies.
He also gave an update of Covid-19 infections by province.
Nine provinces have recorded no cases since the start of the outbreak. They are Chainat, Trat, Sing Buri, Kamphaeng Phet, Nan, Phichit, Buengkan, Ranong, and Satun.
Thirty-four provinces have recorded no cases in the past 28 days: Phetchaburi, Kanchanaburi, Chanthaburi, Nakhon Nayok, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Rayong, Ratchaburi, Lop Buri, Samut Songkhram, Sa Kaeo, Saraburi, Chiang Rai, Phetchabun, Phrae, Mae Hong Son, Tak, Lamphun, Sukhothai, Uttaradit, Uthai Thani, Kalasin, Buri Ram, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Yasothon, Roi Et, Si Sa Ket, Sakon Nakhon, Surin, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Amnat Charoen, Udon Thani, and Ubon Ratchathani.
Another thirty-four provinces have detected Covid-19 in the past 28 days: Bangkok, Chachoengsao, Chon Buri, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Prachin Buri, Ayutthaya, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakhon, Suphanburi, Chiang Mai, Nakhon Sawan, Phayao, Phitsanulok, Lampang, Loei, Khon Kaen Chaiyaphum, Nakhon Phanom, Nakhon Ratchasima, Krabi, Chumphon, Trang, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phang-nga, Phatthalung, Phuket, Yala, Songkhla, and Surat Thani.

The spokesman said the government would reimpose restrictions if easing of the lockdown resulted in a daily rise of 14 or more new cases.

Published : May 04, 2020

By : The Nation