Friday, August 14, 2020

27 drought-hit provinces named disaster zones

May 22. 2020
Facebook Twitter


The Interior Ministry’s Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has named 27 provinces as disaster zones due to severe drought and is mobilising agencies to provide immediate relief through measures such as digging wells, pumping water, building tanks and distributing water among residents.

Monton Sudprasert, the department’s director general, said that from October 17, 2019 to May 22, 165 districts in 29 provinces were hit by drought.

“However, Uttaradit and Kalasin are no longer facing drought, which has reduced the disaster zones to 27 provinces, 160 districts and 7,444 villages,” he said.

Of the drought-hit provinces, eight are in the North, namely Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Sukhothai, Phetchabun, Chiang Mai, Phitsanulok and Tak; nine in the Northeast, namely Nong Khai, Bueng Kan, Nakhon Phanom, Sakon Nakhon, Maha Sarakham, Nakhon Ratchasima, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum and Si Sa Ket; nine are in the Central region and East, namely Nakhon Sawan, Uthai Thani, Chai Nat, Kanchanaburi, Suphanburi, Chachoengsao, Prachinburi, Chanthaburi and Chonburi, while one is in the South, namely Songkhla.

In line with the severe water shortage, the department has been campaigning for each sector to use water economically and is urging farmers to make adjustments according to the situation. People suffering from drought can call 1784 any time of the day or night for immediate assistance.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News