Tuesday, August 04, 2020

Japan bans entry for nationals of 129 countries until July 31

Jul 02. 2020
Facebook Twitter

By The Nation

Japan has extended denial of entry to nationals of 129 countries, including Thailand, until July 31. The Thai embassy and consulates in Tokyo reported on Wednesday (July 1) the announcement by Japan's foreign ministry.

The Japanese authority announced that foreign nationals categorised below are denied permission to enter unless special exceptional circumstances are found.

Foreigners who arrive in Japan in a flight via any of those 129 countries or regions which are subject to denial of permission to entry, with a purpose of refuelling or transit, will also be denied entry into Japan in principle.

The countries are:

Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei, China, India, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

Oceania: Australia, New Zealand

North America: Canada, United States of America

Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Uruguay

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican

Middle East: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Africa: Algeria, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central Africa, Cote d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa

The ban list includes foreigners who have Chinese passports issued in Hubei province or Zhejiang province of China and foreigners who were on the cruise ship Westerdam, that departed from Hong Kong.

Meanwhile, permanent resident, spouse or child of Japanese nationals, spouse or child of permanent resident, or long-term resident has to ask for re-entry permission and test for Covid-19 before boarding.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News