Saturday, May 15, 2021


Shortlist for next top Transport Ministry official 'yet to be finalised'

The outing Transport Ministry permanent secretary will propose to the minister three names as his replacement when he retires.



Chaiwat Tongkamkoon, the current permanent secretary, retires on September 30. He is expected to propose names of prospective candidates to Transport Minister Saksayam Chidchob by August.
The ministry has numerous officers who could be promoted as the new permanent secretary. The first criteria for consideration is knowledge, followed by experience and age, he said.
Chaiwat said that he had no one person in mind at this time, but there was still time for him to choose the right candidate. Normally, three candidate names will be proposed one month before retirement, he explained.
He added that he had no concerns about the ministry, as he had confidence in the capacity of all executives.
The ministry’s report said that the three officials who could be promoted as the new permanent secretary were: Chirute Visalachitra, the director-general of the Department of Land Transport, Sarawut Songsivilai, the director-general of the Department of Highways, and Phisak Jitwiriyawasin, the deputy permanent secretary. These three persons are considered close to the minister.

Published : July 12, 2020