Thursday, October 22, 2020

31 provinces hammered by tropical storm

Sep 23. 2020
Facebook Twitter


Thirty-one provinces were hit by tropical storm Noul, the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation said today (September 23).

“Thirty-one provinces, 135 districts and 290 subdistricts were affected by the storm, which, together with the influence of the southwest monsoon from the Andaman Sea and Gulf of Thailand, had triggered heavy rain and wind, flash floods and landslides since September 18,” department director-general Chayaphol Thitisak said.

The 31 provinces affected are Lampang, Phrae, Lamphun, Tak, Kamphaengphet, Phetchabun, Phichit, Loei, Udon Thani, Khon Kaen, Chaiyaphum, Mukdahan, Ubon Ratchathani, Roi Et, Maha Sarakham, Surin, Buriram, Si Sa Ket, Nakhon Ratchasima, Lopburi, Singburi, Prachinburi, Chanthaburi, Trat, Chumphon, Ranong, Phang Nga, Phuket, Krabi, Trang and Satun.

Of these, 24 have suffered from flash floods and water runoff at the height of 15-30 centimetres. The provinces with no reports of flooding are Udon Thani, Roi Et, Maha Sarakham, Phuket, Krabi, Trang and Satun.

At least 27,658 households were affected by the storm, with one victim in Rayong being killed by a falling tree and two being injured in Phetchabun, also from collapsing trees.

The director-general said his department had coordinated with local authorities, district administration offices and related agencies to help those affected, by handing out survival kits and construction material to villagers whose houses were destroyed.

“If you need help, contact the 24-hour 1784 hotline,” Chayaphol added.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News