Friday, December 06, 2019

Ex-election commissioners released from prison early

Dec 12. 2017
Facebook Twitter


2,043 Viewed

TWO FORMER election commissioners are among 283 convicts who have received early release from jail terms following a resolution of the penalty suspension committee under the Justice Ministry.

The two ex-commissioners, Wassana Permlarp and Parinya Nakchatree, both of whom are 76, were sentenced to two years in jail after being convicted of violating the election law in connection with the national election in April 2006. 

They have already served one year, six months and 13 days in jail and were eligible to receive the suspension. However, the two must comply with conditions set by the Probation Office for the rest of their terms, or five months and 22 days.

The decision was made yesterday at a committee meeting chaired by ministry deputy permanent secretary Wittaya Suriyawong, Corrections Department chief Pol Colonel Narat Sawettanan said. 

Narat said 4,506 convicts had requested suspensions to their jail terms this year but only 58 per cent, or 2,636, were approved.

A suspension entails a release from prison under certain conditions, giving convicts who demonstrate good behaviour the opportunity to return to society before their terms end, he said. 

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News