Friday, September 18, 2020

Buriram claim fifth Thai League title

Nov 08. 2017
Facebook Twitter

By Lerpong Amsa-ngiam
The Nation

Buriram United won the 2017 Toyota Thai League title  following a 4-0  win over Police Tero on Wednesday at the I Mobile Stadium regardless of their two remaining games.

The  Bozidar Bandovic ‘s side proved too tough for the underdogs Police Tero to catch up with as they clearly dominated play from start to finish.

Brazilian international Jakson Avelino Coelho  scored twice for the home team in the sixth and 20th minutes while countryman Diogo Luis Santo  netted his shot in the 14th minute.

Buriram’s fourth goal was generated by Captain Suchao Nuchnum in the 61st minute.

The Thunder Castles have produced a total 80 points which is enough for them to win the 2017 Thai League trophy with second placed SCG Muang Thong United following far second with 66 points.

Buriram won the title although they have two more matches against Bangkok United on November 12 and Chonburi on November 18. This is Buriram’s fifth victory in the League after their previous achievements in 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015. 


Facebook Twitter
More in Sport
Editor’s Picks
Top News