Sat, August 13, 2022


Four Satun districts declared flood disaster zones

Four districts of Satun province have been declared flood disaster zones to ensure speedy aid for victims.

Sunaree Boonchoop, chief of the southern province’s Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Office, said Kuan Kalong, La-ngu, Kuan Done and Muang districts had been hit by floods since Saturday.
The Meteorological Office had warned of more rain through Wednesday, she said, and residents of the four districts were for now unable to get back to normal life.
Floodwater had, however, receded in all areas except in Muang, she said.
Nit Promprasit, director of Satun’s Basic Education Office, said three schools in Muang were closed on Monday because of the flooding.
They are Muang Satun Kindergarten School, Ban Yan Sue Mittraparp School and Ban Khok Pradu School.

Published : September 17, 2018

By : The Nation