Tue, July 05, 2022


Storms wreak havoc in 13 provinces

Storms hit Chainat, Lamphun, Phayao, Phitsanulok, Udon Thani, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nakhon Ratchasima, Khon Kaen, Chon Buri, Sing Buri, Saraburi, Nonthaburi and Krabi, causing at least one death and damaging 160 houses since July 6.

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation reported the situation has been resolved in the 13 provinces with cooperation between the department and the Army.
Department director-general Chayabol Thitisak said the southwest monsoon that covered the Andaman Sea and Thailand from July 6 till today (July 29) was the cause of the disaster.
The destruction in 139 villages in Nakhon Ratchasima resulted in one person dying and a school, four small fishing boats, two cars and one motorcycle being damaged.
Responsible organisations in the 13 provinces have helped victims by distributing groceries, roofs and material for household repairs. Also, the Finance Ministry is preparing compensation for damages and the one casualty.

Published : July 29, 2020

By : The Nation