The Nationthailand

Add to Home Screen.

FRIDAY, December 09, 2022
NLD settles for poll victories in nine seats

NLD settles for poll victories in nine seats

TUESDAY, April 04, 2017

The ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) won nine seats from those up for grabs in the 19 vacant constituencies at the by-elections on Saturday.

The next most successful party was the Shan Nationalities League for Democracy (SNLD), with six seats, followed by the Arakan National Party with one seat. The Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) took two seats and the All Nationalities Democratic Party (Kayah) gained one.

  The Union Election Commission (UEC) announced the voting results on Sunday.

The by-elections were for nine seats in the Lower House (Pyithu Hluttaw), three in the Upper House (Amyotha Hluttaw) and seven for the Regional and State Parliaments.

The NLD picked up nine seats in the constituencies of Hlaingthaya, Monywa, Kawhmu, Dagon Seikkan and Dagon Myothit (East). The NLD’s arch-rival USDP captured two seats for the Lower House in Chaungzon, Mon State and Ann, in Rakhine State. In Shan State, the SNLD swept all six seats, two of them for the Lower House and four for the State Parliament in Monghsu and Kyeethi townships.

In Kawhmu constituency, the NLD’s Kyaw Swe Win won the seat by a large margin, with 38,028 votes to the USDP’s 13,432 votes.

In Hlaingthaya constituency, the NLD’s Win Min won 30,369 votes, against the USDP’s 8,655 votes. In Dagon Seikkan constituency, the NLD’s Mya Sein gained 15,756 votes; the USDP managed only 6,008 votes.

In Monywa constituency, the NLD’s Nyunt Aung won the seat by a wide  margin, with 95,923 votes compared with the USDP’s 16,593 votes. In Dagon Myothit (East) constituency, the NLD’s Nay Kyaw won the seat by a large margin, with 27,357 votes; the USDP gained 9,742 votes.

In No. 4 constituency of Bago Region, the NLD’s San San Myint won 71,042; the USDP got 33,781 votes. In No. 6 constituency of Yangon Region, the NLD’s Maung Maung scooped 75,299 votes, with the USDP’s landing 10,803 votes. In No. 3 constituency of Chin State, the NLD’s Bwe Khaine won the seat with a total of 9,242 votes.

In Chaungzon constituency of Mon State, the USDP’s Aung Kyi Thein won 19,667, ahead of the NLD with 12,636 votes. In Kengtung constituency of Shan State, the USDP’s Shamyway Lashan got 7,026 votes and the NLD,  4,518 votes.

In Ann constituency of Rakhine State, the ANP’s Aye Maung won 21,794 votes, well ahead of candidates from the USDP, the NLD and the SNLD. In Kyeethi constituency of Shan State, the SNLD’s Sai Aung Kyaw won 18,882 votes, with the USDP getting 3,235 votes and the NLD, 1,668 votes.