Thu, January 20, 2022


Padomechai emerges victorious in Nakhon Pathom by-election

Former Nakhon Pathom MP Padomechai Sasomsup of Chart Thai Pattana won the by-election for the vacant Nakhon Pathom Constituency 5 MP position held at Sampran district in Nakhon Pathom province on Wednesday (Oct. 23).

The unofficial vote count showed Padomechai with 38,765 votes, Pairattachot Jantharakajorn from Future Forward Party with 28,882 votes and Surachai Anudthato of the Democrat Party with 13,061 votes. The by-election saw a turnout of 90,882 out of 146,497 eligible voters, or 63.33 per cent.
The MP position became vacant after the resignation of Jumpita Chantharakhajorn of the Future Forward Party following a road accident. Jumpita won the March election with 34,164 votes, beating Surachai Anudthato with 18,970 votes, and Phalang Pracharat candidate Rawan Netrphokaew with 18,741 votes, while Padomechai received only 12,279 votes.
After being informed of the unofficial result, Padomechai said he would like to thank the people of Nakhon Pathom for giving him another chance, and that he would do his best to serve the people and not let them down.
Meanwhile, Future Forward Party secretary-general Piyabutr Saengkanokkul said that the by-election result was unsatisfactory. “There were fewer voters comparing to March election, partly because the election was held on Wednesday instead of weekend,” he said. “This is probably one of the reasons why FFP lost the election.”
Piyabutr added that he believed that his people did the best they could, and thanked the voters who cast their votes for the Future Forward Party.


Related Story: Future Forward leaning toward a by-election over its absent Nakhon Pathom MP

Published : October 24, 2019