Fri, May 27, 2022


Panel comes up with plan to conserve old cities in three provinces

The Rattanakosin and Old Cities Conservation and Development Committee has approved guidelines to preserve and develop old cities in three provinces, namely Uthai Thani, Trang and Chachoengsao.

The decision was made at a meeting that was presided over by Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwan on Monday.

In Chachoengsao, conservation and development work will cover fort walls near Bang Pakong River, Wat Sothon Wararam, the city pillar shrine, Phraya Srisoontorn Voharn Monument, a 100-year-old teak house and a market under the Crown Property Bureau.

In Uthai Thani, work will be done on Wat Upostharam, Sakae Krang mountain, the Trok Rong Ya Chin community and a community of floating houses on the Sakae Krang River.

In Trang, conservation and development efforts will cover the governor’s residence, Trang Church, the clock tower, train station and buildings in the Tabtiang historical area.

The committee has also okayed a master plan to preserve and develop old cities in the provinces of Sakhon Nakhon, Ranong, Ratchaburi, Tak and Phrae. These plans will be proposed to the Cabinet soon.

Published : January 19, 2021

By : The Nation