Friday, December 06, 2019

Supreme Court names two election commissioners

Dec 07. 2017
Facebook Twitter

By The Nation

2,024 Viewed

The Supreme Court has selected Pakorn Mahannop and Chatchai Chanpraisri to join the new Election Commission.

They were named in two inclusive meetings of 176 Supreme Court judges.

The organic law that ended the tenures of the previous seven commissioners requires that the Supreme Court choose two of their replacements.

The other five are to be named by an appointed selection committee.

The Supreme Court named Chatchai as a qualified and appropriate choice for the commission on November 17, and in its second session on Wednesday selected Pakorn.

Prapan Anaman, a senior judge of the Appeals Court, had applied for membership on the commission but was not selected.

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News