Monday, April 19, 2021

New Cabinet wins royal endorsement

Jul 10. 2019
Facebook Twitter


The new Cabinet led by Prime Minister General Prayut Chan-o-cha, who will also double as defence minister, has been given the royal nod.


Sontirat Sontijirawong, secretary-general of the core coalition partner Phalang Pracharat Party, has been given the Energy Ministry, which was also reportedly coveted by Suriya Juangroongruangkit, the leader of a key faction in Phalang Pracharat Party. 

Phalang Pracharat leader, Uttama Savanayana, has been given the Finance portfolio even though the opposition claimed his alleged role in a 2003 Krungthai Bank loan scandal disqualified him from the post. Uttama defended himself saying that during his time as senior executive at the bank, he had nothing to do with the approval of loans to ailing property firms. 

The new Cabinet will start working immediately after the ministers take their oaths before His Majesty the King, which is expected to be soon.

The new government is led by Phalang Pracharat Party, which came second in the March 24 general election but managed to build a majority in the House of Representatives by forming an 18-party coalition.



Energy Minister Sontirat Sontijirawong


Finance Minister Uttama Savanayana


Deputy PM for National Security Affairs Prawit Wongsuwan


Names of members of the new Cabinet, based on the royal endorsement granted on July 10, 2019


1. Prayut Chan-o-cha

Prime Minister and Defence Minister


2. Prawit Wongsuwan

Deputy Prime Minister for National Security Affairs

3. Somkid Jatusripitak

Deputy Prime Minister for Economic Affairs

4. Wissanu Krea-ngam

Deputy Prime Minister for Legal Affairs


5.Jurin Laksanawisit

Deputy Prime Minister and Commerce Minister


6.Anutin Charnvirakul

Deputy Prime Minister and Public Health Minister

7. General Anupong Paochinda

Interior Minister


8. Niphon Bunyamanee

Deputy Interior Minister


9. Songsak Thongsee

Deputy Interior Minister


10. General Chaicharn Changmongkhol

Deputy Defence Minister


11. Uttama Savanayana

Finance Minister


12. Santi Phromphat

Deputy Finance Minister


13. MR Chatu Mongol Sonakul

Labour Minister


14. Tewan Liptapanlop

PM’s Office Minister


15. Nataphol Teepsuwan

Education Minister


16. Kalaya Sophonpanich

Deputy Education Minister


17. Kanokwan Wilawal

Deputy Education Minister


18. Suriya Juangroongruangkit

Industry Minister


19. Suvit Maesincee

Undergraduate Education, Research, Science and Innovation Minister

20. Sontirat Sontijirawong

Energy Minister

21. Somsak Thepsuthin

Justice Minister

22. Buddhipongse Punakanta

Digital Economy and Society Minister

23. Ittipol Khunpluem

Culture Minister

24. Juti Krairiksh

Social Development and Human Security Minister

25. Saksayam Chidchob

Transport Minister

26. Thavorn Senniam

Deputy Transport Minister

27. Atheerat Rattanaset

Deputy Transport Minister

28. Chalermchai Sri-on

Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister

29. Thammanas Phromphao

Deputy Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister


30. Mananya Thaiset

Deputy Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister

31. Praphat Phothasuthon

Deputy Agriculture and Cooperatives Minister

32. Sathit Pitutecha

Deputy Public Health Minister

33. Phiphat Ratchakitprakarn

Tourism and Sports Minister

34. Weerasak Wongsuphakijkoson

Deputy Commerce Minister

35. Varawut Silpa-archa

Natural Resources and Environment Minister

36. Don Pramudwinai

Foreign Minister

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News