Longer Thai quarantine for travellers from 10 African countries

FRIDAY, MARCH 26, 2021

Thai health authorities on Friday issued a list of 10 countries exempted from the new 10-day quarantine measure for foreign arrivals.

Department of Disease Control chief Opas Karnkawinpong said travellers from African countries where a highly infectious Covid-19 variant is prevalent would still have to undergo the full 14-day quarantine in Thailand.

The Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration has approved the launch of 10-day quarantine from April 1, as Thailand eases travel restrictions in response to the vaccination rollout worldwide.

However, concern that vaccines may be less effective against the South African variant of the virus has prompted tighter Thai quarantine restrictions for 10 African countries.

Travellers from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Botswana, Zambia, Kenya, Rwanda, Cameroon, DR Congo, and Ghana will have to spend the full 14 days in Thai quarantine.

The South African strain has been found in Thai returnees from Tanzania and Mozambique.

The full list of countries exempted from the 10-day quarantine measure will be released on the DDC website from April 1 with updates every two weeks.