Tuesday, July 07, 2020

PD polls: Anwar wins, based on unofficial results

Oct 13. 2018
Facebook Twitter

By The Star
Asia News Network

Pakatan Harapan candidate Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has an unassailable lead in the Port Dickson by-election, according to an unofficial tally of the votes on Saturday.

As at 7.30pm, the PKR president-elect has secured a total of 25,409 votes, according to Fahmi Fadzil, the PKR strategic communications director.

The total number of votes counted so far is 36,335.

The Election Commission said that voter turnout at 4pm was at 54%, but it has not provided the final voter turnout figure as yet.

PAS candidate Lt-Kol (Rtd) Mohd Nazari Mokhtar has so far received 6,540 votes and independent candidate Tan Sri Isa Samad, 3,574 votes.

Another independent candidate, Stevie Chan, has 271 votes, followed by Lau Seck Yan (174), Kan Chee Yuen (127) and Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan (84).

The Port Dickson polls was triggered by the resignation of the incumbent MP Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah, who made way for Anwar to enable his return to Parliament.


Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News