Farmers must return banned agri-chemicals by August 29

SATURDAY, MAY 30, 2020

The ban on paraquat and chlorpyrifos will take effect on June 1 and farmers must return the banned agri-chemicals in their possession to sellers within 90 days, Government Deputy Spokesperson Traisulee Traisoranakul said on Saturday (May 30).

“The Ministry of Industry published the list of banned toxic chemicals [sixth edition] in the Royal Gazette on May 19 to be effective from June 1,” she said. “The list includes five agri-chemicals based on paraquat and chlorpyrifos, such as chlorpyrifos, chlorpyrifos-methyl, paraquat, paraquat dichloride and paraquat dichloride [bis methyl sulfate].”
“Those who have stocks of these chemicals must return them to the sellers within 90 days, or before August 29,” she said. “Sellers must accept the chemicals and submit them, as well as possession information to the Department of Agriculture within 120 days of the ban coming into effect, or before September 28.
“The government approved the ban on toxic chemicals because it is concerned about the health and safety of users and consumers as well as the effect on the environment,” added Traisulee. “The ban is a result of a thorough study and approvals from several related agencies, including the Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives, Ministry of Industry, National Hazardous Substances Committee and many agricultural communities.”
“The Department of Agriculture has already prepared safer substances to substitute these toxic chemicals as well as natural alternatives to deal with agricultural pests to minimise the impact of the ban on farmers,” she added.