Wed, December 01, 2021


Suga announces state of emergency to end nationwide except for Okinawa

The government decided Thursday to end the state of emergency in Tokyo and eight other prefectures after Sunday, while it will be extended for Okinawa Prefecture.

At a meeting of the government’s novel coronavirus task force, the government decided to switch Tokyo, Osaka, Aichi, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Hyogo and Kyoto to emergency-level priority measures to prevent the spread of the disease.

No measures will be in place in Okayama and Hiroshima prefectures after Sunday.

“We will continue to take measures focusing on eating and drinking,” Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga said at the meeting.

Published : June 18, 2021

By : The Japan News/ANN