Tuesday, July 07, 2020

Hazardous Substance Committee agrees to ban 3 toxic pesticides

Oct 22. 2019
Facebook Twitter


Twenty-six members of the Hazardous Substance Committee have reached a verdict to approve a planned ban on three toxic pesticides – Paraquat, Chlorpyrifos and Glyphosate – which are widely used in agriculture, Deputy Prime Minister and Public Health Minister Anutin Charnvirakul posted on his personal Facebook page on Tuesday.

Here’s the voting results:

Paraquat – 21 votes for a ban, 5 votes for a limit on usage;

Chlorpyrifos – 22 votes for a ban, 4 votes for a limit on usage;

Glyphosate – 19 votes for a ban, 7 votes for a limit on usage.

Anutin thanked “every party which supports the banning of the three pesticides” and “congratulated Thais for having government officials and academics who have ethics and integrity”.


Related Story: Anutin vows to resign if the bill banning 3 pesticides fails

Facebook Twitter
More in News
Editor’s Picks
Top News