FRIDAY, February 23, 2024

Bangkok MP ratio remains unchanged as EC recalculates allocations

Bangkok MP ratio remains unchanged as EC recalculates allocations

Under the latest charter court ruling, Bangkok will remain the province with the highest number of members of Parliament in the upcoming general election, followed by Nakhon Ratchasima.

There are 33 seats up for grabs in Bangkok and 16 in Nakhon Ratchasima.

The calculation of MP seats for each province was concluded on Friday after the Constitutional Court ruled that non-Thai residents cannot be included when calculating the number of people represented by an MP.

As of December 31, 2022, Thailand’s population stood at 66,090,475, but when non-Thais are removed, the number falls to 65,106,481. When this number is divided by 400 (the number of seats in the lower House), each province should have one MP for every 162,766 people.

With constituency boundaries being redrawn based on the court’s verdict, the provinces of Tak, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, and Samut Sakhon will each lose one MP, while Udon Thani, Lop Buri, Nakhon Si Thammarat, and Pattani will gain one MP each.

Here is the number of MPs required in provinces other than Bangkok and Nakhon Ratchasima:

11: Khon Kaen, Ubon Ratchathani

10: Nakhon Si Thammarat, Chonburi, Chiang Mai, Udon Thani and Buri Ram

9: Si Sa Ket and Songkhla

8: Nonthaburi, Roi Et, Samut Prakan, Surin

7: Chiang Rai, Chaiyaphum, Pathum Thani, Sakon Nakhon, Surat Thani

6: Kalasin, Nakhon Pathom, Nakhon Sawan, Phetchabun, Maha Sarakham

5: Pattani, Lopburi, Kanchanaburi, Narathiwat, Ayutthaya, Phitsanulok, Rayong, Ratchaburi, Suphan Buri

4: Kamphaeng Phet, Chachoengsao, Trang, Nakhon Phanom, Lampang, Loei, Saraburi, Sukhothai

3: Tak, Krabi, Chanthaburi, Chumphon, Nan, Bueng Kan, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Prachinburi, Phayao, Phatthalung, Phichit, Phetchaburi, Phrae, Phuket, Yasothon, Yala, Sa Kaew, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Samut Sakhon, Uttaradit

2: Chai Nat, Nakhon Nayok, Phang Nga, Mukdahan, Mae Hong Son, Lamphun, Satun, Ang Thong, Amnat Charoen, Uthai Thani.

1: Trat, Ranong, Samut Songkhram, Sing Buri.

If divided by region, the number of MPs in the Northeast will rise to 133 from 132, followed by the South, which will rise to 60 from 58, while seats in the North will drop to 37 from 39. MP seats in the Central, East and West will remain unchanged at 122, 29 and 19, respectively.