NSC wary of move to exempt filing of TM6 for arrivals via land and sea

SUNDAY, APRIL 14, 2024

The National Security Council (NSC) has suggested more use of the Foreign Ministry’s electronic travel authorisation system (ETA) following the Cabinet's approval of exemption from TM6 filing at 13 border and sea checkpoints.

In its urgent letter to the Foreign Ministry and other concerned government agencies, the NSC expressed concern that the exemption of TM6 at border checkpoints and seaports could allow foreign criminals to enter the country without being monitored.

The NSC noted that the number of foreigners committing crimes in Thailand had been on the rise during the past three to four years, especially those from Eastern Europe.

The NSC said the ETA of the Foreign Ministry, which is similar to e-arrival cards of other nations, would allow foreign tourists to register their information electronically about their stay in Thailand a few days before their arrival and the system could be more effective than the TM6 paper form of the Immigration Bureau.

NSC wary of move to exempt filing of TM6 for arrivals via land and sea

On Tuesday, the Cabinet approved the Foreign Ministry’s proposal to suspend TM6 filing at 13 border checkpoints and sea ports to boost tourism and make it more convenient for foreign tourists to enter the country.

Filing of TM6 cards will be suspended from April 15 to October 15.

The government suspended the TM6 arrival/departure cards in June 2022 for arrivals at airports in a bid to ease congestion.

The TM6 card is a two-part arrival and departure card used to collect information about visitors entering Thailand. The form asks for basic data like name, passport details, flight number, address in Thailand and visa information if applicable.

NSC wary of move to exempt filing of TM6 for arrivals via land and sea

The eight border checkpoints where TM6 card filing is suspended are:

- Sadao district border checkpoint, Songkhla province

- Chiang Saen district border checkpoint, Chiang Rai

-First Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge border checkpoint, Nong Khai

- Second Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge border checkpoint, Mukdahan

- Klong Luek border checkpoint in Mukdahan

- Sungai Kolok border checkpoint, Narathiwat

- Betong border checkpoint, Yala

- Padang Bezar border checkpoint, Songkhla

The five seaports where tourists arriving on cruises and sports boats are exempted from filing the TM6 card are:

- Phuket sea checkpoint

- Rayong sea checkpoint

- Chonburi sea checkpoint

- Krabi sea checkpoint

- Surat Thani sea checkpoint.